AAEP Awards

The American Association of Emergency Psychiatry (AAEP) awards two awards each year: the Garland "Bo" H. Holloman, Jr. Distinguished Member Award and the Emergency Psychiatry Development Award.  The association encourages nominations for the awards.


Garland "Bo" H. Holloman, Jr. Distinguished Member Award

The Garland “Bo” H. Holloman, Jr. Distinguished Member Award, established in 2013 by the Board of Directors of the American Association for Emergency Psychiatry, has been created to recognize outstanding contributors to the field of emergency psychiatry.  The award honors a member of AAEP who has made a notable contribution to emergency psychiatry through publications, advocacy, and/or leadership.

Eligibility: The nominee must be currently active in AAEP and demonstrate a marked contribution to the field of emergency psychiatry.

Selection: Nomination letters should be submitted to the Board of Directors.  The awardee will be determined by majority vote of the Board.

Deadline: Discretion of the Board

Award: Plaque 


Emergency Psychiatry Development Award

The Emergency Psychiatry Development Award was created to foster interest in behavioral emergencies for residents in psychiatry and emergency medicine. The award honors a resident or fellow for an outstanding scholarly contribution to emergency psychiatry.

Eligibility: The nominee must be a Psychiatry or Emergency Medicine Resident (any level) or Fellow with a marked contribution to emergency psychiatry via a scholarly product.  The scholarly project is in the form of research, QI/QA project, case series or case report.

Deadline: Abstracts need to be submitted to the National Update for Behavioral Emergencies conference; date November 1st of each year but subject to change. 

Finalists: All finalists will present an oral abstract at the National Update for Behavioral Emergencies, which is held in December of each year.

Award: There will be up to 3 prizes: Outstanding, Meritorious, and Honorable Mention, with corresponding certificates and cash prizes of $100, $50, and $25, respectively. 


For more information, contact the association at [email protected].