AAEP Board of Directors

Officers of the American Association for Emergency Psychiatry are elected by members. Each elected position serves terms of two to four years with limits of two consecutive terms, with the exception of Executive Director. An Executive Director may be selected by the Board of Directors and serves as a nonvoting member of the Board of Directors. The voting members of the Board consist of the Officers of the Association and four at large members. A nominating committee composed of the three most recent past presidents selects the candidate slate. To read more about the specific positions of board officers and councilors at large, please review AAEP's bylaws



President, 2022-2024
Junji Takeshita, MD, FACLP
John A. Burns School of Medicine, University of Hawaii
Honolulu, HI
Read Bio




President-Elect, 2022-2024
Michael J. Gerardi, MD, FACEP
Accute Medical Management
Morristown, NJ
Read Bio





Immediate Past President, 2022-2024
Tony Thrasher, DO, DFAPA
Milwaukee County Behavioral Health Division
Milwaukee, WI
Read Bio





Executive Director
Don Knox
American Association for Emergency Psychiatry
Aurora, CO


At-Large Directors


Kimberly D. Nordstrom, MD
University of Colorado
Denver, CO
Read Bio





Victor Stiebel, MD
West Virginia University Health System
Pittsburgh, PA
Read Bio




Tara P. Toohey, MD
Vituity Telepsychiatry
Coronado, CA
Read Bio





Michael Wilson, MD
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS)
Little Rock, AR
Read Bio




Link to Reimbursement Form